Original Article Posted on StateScoop

The 2017 winners of the StateScoop 50 Awards, which highlight the best and brightest in the state IT community, were announced Sunday at a reception in Crystal City, Virginia, to help kick off the National Association of State Chief Information Officers' midyear conference.

For the fourth year, the StateScoop 50 awards honored state government information technology executives, leaders, industry influencers, up-and-comers and innovative projects. And for the first time, the awards honored cybersecurity leaders across state government.

Members of the state and local IT community nominated thousands of government leaders in March, 2017. StateScoop narrowed the list to the top 150 with the most nominations and StateScoop readers cast more than 100,000 votes nationally in April to select the final 50 2017 winners.

“As a team, we are so committed to this community and have built many deep relationships across the country with top leaders in government IT," said Goldy Kamali, founder and CEO of Scoop News Group, StateScoop's parent company. "We are honored to recognize the distinguished leaders across the state IT community who have made important contributions to their governments, their citizens and the country as a whole in the past year."

"Every year, as we compile the nominations for the StateScoop 50 Awards and open up for voting, I'm amazed at how incredible this community is," said Jake Williams, StateScoop's manager of strategic initiatives. "The winners of these awards are among my biggest inspirations, and are made up of folks who are working every day to make government better. We're honored to know them, to recognize them, and to highlight their dedication to public service."

The 2017 StateScoop 50 winners are:

GoldenGov: State Executive of the Year 

  • Darryl Ackley, Chief Information Officer, New Mexico
  • Barbara Brohl, Executive Director, Department of Revenue, Colorado
  • James Collins, Chief Information Officer, Delaware
  • Yessica Jones, Director, Department of Information Systems, Arkansas
  • Gov. Terry McAuliffe, Virginia
  • Ed Toner, Chief Information Officer, Nebraska
  • Amy Tong, Chief Information Officer, California
  • Archana Vemulapalli, Chief Technology Officer, Washington, D.C.
  • Dave Weinstein, Chief Technology Officer, New Jersey

State Leadership of the Year

  • Michael Allison, Chief Technology Officer, Louisiana
  • Dannette Matthis, Deputy Chief Customer Officer, Colorado
  • Liz Rowe, Chief Data Officer, New Jersey
  • Thomas Schaeffer, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota
  • Anil Sharma, Chief Network Officer, Washington, D.C.
  • Pat Snow, Chief Technology Officer, South Dakota
  • Maj. Michael White, Assistant Chief of Staff, Information & Communications, Indiana State Police
  • Spencer Wood, Chief Operations Officer & Deputy Chief Information Officer, Ohio

State IT Innovation of the Year

  • Appellate eFiling System, Supreme Court of Nebraska
  • Arkansas Public School Computer Network, Arkansas Department of Information Systems
  • CCHCS Electronic Health Record System, California Correctional Health Care Services
  • Enterprise Resource Planning, Illinois
  • Iowa Department of Transportation, Iowa
  • Maryland Uniform Commercial Code Online System, Maryland Department of Assessments & Taxation
  • Michigan Cyber Civilian Corps, Michigan Department of Technology, Management & Budget
  • New Jersey Criminal History Record Request, New Jersey State Police
  • Utah.gov, Utah
  • Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program Payment Portal, Virginia
  • WorkSourceWA.com, Washington Department of Employment Security
  • WVDE Electronic Application Processing, West Virginia Department of Education

State Up & Comer

  • Miranda Gladden, Data Processing Manager III, California
  • Suzanne Pauley, Director, eMichigan, Michigan
  • Billy Rials, State Enterprise Architect, Mississippi
  • Andy Shirtliff, Small Business Advocate, Office of Economic Development, Montana
  • Brandon Williams, Chief Digital Transformation Officer, Colorado
  • Mike Wons, Chief Technology Officer, Illinois

State Cybersecurity Leader

  • Danielle Alvarez, Chief Information Security Officer, Florida
  • Frank Andrews, Chief Security Officer, Arkansas
  • Deborah Blyth, Chief Information Security Officer, Colorado
  • John Griffin, Manager, Enterprise Information Security Operations Center, New York
  • David Kelly, Captain, Michigan Cyber Command Center, Michigan State Police
  • Peter Liebert, Chief Information Security Officer, California
  • Kirk Lonbom, Chief Information Security Officer, Illinois

Industry Leadership of the Year

  • Claire Bailey, Director of Federal, State & Local Solutions, Compuware
  • Brenda Decker, Director of Global Government, IBM
  • Jim Falvey, Senior Director SLED, VMWare
  • Bill Kurtz, VP, Public Sector, RSA
  • Jennifer Nowell, National Director for State, Local Government & Education, Symantec
  • David Smith, National Director, State & Local Government, Citrix
  • Richard Spires, CEO, Learning Tree International
  • Allan Wong, Director, SLED, Dell EMC
Back to top